Silgrad Tower from the Ashes

Full Version: Maybe an useful tip?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hi there!I'm new here and I'd like to help. I've been modding alone for six months, learning tesc, blender, nifskope and photoshop, but never released anything because I can't finish the project I've been on (you never go very far when you're alone...). Maybe I'll pick up a claim soon, but now I'm just here because I may have found an interesting tip...

Everyone knows the problem of the buildings popping up from nowhere when entering a cell, the reason is simple: that object only exists in that cell. So if we could link that object to other objects located in the surrounding cells, maybe the first one would be visible from there? And that's exactly what I did accidently: I was building a VERY huge castle, playing lego in blender with oblivion nifs, and exported one giant nif composed of a lot of different nodes (one for castle gate, one for tower and so on). In game I realised that I was able to see the whole castle, which wouldn't have been possible with standard tesc way of building because the castle was too large to fit in 5 cells.

I made an other test with just a couple of buildings to see the result more clearly (screenshots below), same result, objects VWD! (in the second screen, the fog hides the more distant buildings, but I like that Morrowind effect). You don't have to do this with different buildings linking to each other, you can link your mesh with invisible items.