Silgrad Tower from the Ashes

Full Version: Someone pls help me wif the collision mesh problem
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
my problem is that I cant get the collision mesh to work at all. I've read probably all the collision tutorials int he forum butstill cant get to work. Maybe I'm missing something.

This is how I work through my processes.
First I created a mesh to be exported
next another mesh of similar shape
in 3d max 2008.
both meshes were placed at the same position.
the rougher mesh , I had the collision mesh option ticked (under utilies, nif props) theni exported both as nif.
and the collision mesh didn work.
I have the nifskope program but didn use it at all. Am I suppose to use it at all? and how?
pls reply as soon as possible.
I'm a student learning the CS
Have you checked out Razorwings video tutorials? If not, I would recommend doing so.

I'd also recommend at looking at this tutorial, as it deals with MOPP collision (which came after Razorwing did his tutorials).
Thanks for the mention, Nick Smile

I also wanted to chip in that making collision via the button on the Utilities panel is a throwback from the exporter's early development. I don't know why it's still included because we've instead been using a bhkRigidBody modifier added to the collision mesh for surely over a year by now.
o, the modifier works for me. Guess the utilites collision button is spoilt.
But i still have a qns, wat does the nifskope do? and is it possible to create a in game elevator that would travel upwards when my character is inside? thxs for yur help. Guess im outdated cause the tutorials i could find were only dealt with the utilites panel option. I also realised that i cant directly duplicate the mesh and use the collision modifier, otherwise the collision will go haywire. Why is this so?
Quote:Originally posted by roar999